Call for old and inaccurate signs to be reported

Thames Ward Cllr Ed Hopper has welcomed new guidance published this year by the Department for Transport aimed reducing sign clutter and calling for local Councils to use their engineering judgement and local knowledge to complement the guidance to ensure signing solutions are effective.

 

Ed said “One of the things which I have spent a significant amount of time on since my election in May 2012 has been getting redundant, unsafe or inaccurate road signage removed from various points across Thames Ward. An example of this has been the signage at the Kidmore Road end of Gravel Hill (now closed to traffic) which I have asked Officers to review and, if appropriate, to remove.”

The guidance document issued by central government can be accessed here https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/43525/tal-reducing-sign-clutter.pdf

 “I would urge residents to contact one of their local Conservative Councillors with details of any signs which they think are out of date, illegible, dangerous or contradictory so we can ask RBC Officers to take action. This central government led initiative should encourage the Council to act more quickly than they have in the past.”

For Thames Ward contact Ed.Hopper@reading.gov.uk or David.Stevens@reading.gov.uk or Jeanette.Skeats@reading.gov.uk

For Peppard Ward contact Richard.Willis@reading.gov.uk or Jane.Stanford-Beale@reading.gov.uk

For Caversham Ward contact Andrew.Cumpsty@reading.gov.uk or Tom.Stanway@reading.gov.uk

 

For Mapledurham Ward contact Isobel.Ballsdon@reading.gov.uk